Japanese |English

Naoko Yoshino Harp Recital Series: Programs and Messages

I have planned this recital series in order to take a look back at what I have done, and also at the same time, to find out for myself in which direction I am heading. In these concerts, I have sought to make programs that show the various aspects of the harp.

Each concert has a specific theme, and to match the theme, I have chosen different concert halls for each concert.

RECITAL VOl.1 "A Bouquet of Piano Music"
January 14th, 2006, in Kioi Hall (Tokyo)

The first recital, " A Bouquet of Piano Music ", consists of only piano repertoire. I have chosen piano pieces which work well on the harp, and which show different aspects of the harp. I am sure that you will be able to discover a new dimension to each piece, being played on the harp. This recital will take place on a Saturday afternoon in Kioi Hall, which has a rich acoustic as well as a rich atmosphere.

Franz Joseph Haydn: Piano Sonata in C major, Hob.XVI: 35
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Fantasie in D minor, K.397
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Sonata in F major, K.332
Erik Satie: 3 Gnossiennes
Jean Sibelius: Etude, op.76-2
Oskar Merikanto: Valse lente
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: 2 Klavierstücke
Johannes Brahms: Intermezzo in E-flat major, op.117-1
Johannes Brahms: Rhapsodie in E-flat major, op.119-4
(based on the arrangement for harp by Tisha Murvihill)

RECITAL VOL.2 "Exploring New Sounds"
February 9th, 2006, in Toppan Hall (Tokyo)

In the second " Exploring New Sounds ", all works in the first half are written by Japanese composers. I have had the honor of working closely with all 3 of them in the past, and each piece feels very close to me. The second half is made up of pieces written in the last half of the 20th century. Although using conventional harp techniques, these pieces all succeed in exploring new dimensions of the harp. Toppan Hall, with its clear acoustic and concentrated atmosphere, will be the venue for this recital.


Minako Tokuyama: Oriental Garden
Toshio Hosokawa: Re-turning II
Toru Takemitsu: Stanza II -for Harp and Tape-
Ernst Krenek: Sonata
André Jolivet: Prélude
Ami Maayani: Toccata
Bernard Andrès: Absidioles
Paul Patterson: Spiders

RECITAL VOL.3 "Virtuoso Harp Classics"
March 1st, 2006, in Tokyo Bunka Kaikan Small Hall (Tokyo)
March 11th, 2006, in Suntory Small Hall (Tokyo) -Encore concert of March 1st-

The final " Virtuoso Harp Classics " represents the mainstream of the original harp repertoire. With this program, you should be able to enjoy the many 'faces' of the harp to the fullest. Many standard pieces from the harp repertoire are included here, and most of the pieces have been very close to me throughout the past 20 years. The Bunka Kaikan Recital Hall has always played an important role in the Japanese classical music scene. Many of my past solo recitals have taken place here, and I am very happy to conclude my recital series in this special hall.


Louis Spohr: Fantasie in C minor, op.35
Benjamin Britten: Suite, op.83
Henriette Renié: Légende - d'après les elfes de Leconte de Lisle-
Germaine Tailleferre: Sonata
Gabriel Fauré: Une châtelaine en sa tour, op.110
Joseph Jongen: Valse, op.73
Henriette Renié: Contemplation
Marcel Tournier: Sonatine, op.30

more about NAOKO YOSHINO

Copyright(c)2006 NAOKOYOSHINO All Rights Reserved.